Well guys in this post we bring you some old stories about The Old City of Ključ (Key).
The Old City of Ključ, in historical documents is known as Ključ on Sana is mentioned for the first time in 1322 in a property of an aristocratic family of Hrvatinic, more precisely Vukosav Hrvatinic, an uncle of the famous Herceg Hrvoje who built the royal town Jajce.
The Old city of Ključ is known as the last refuge of the Bosnian king Stjepan Kotromanic under the invasion of Turks led by Sultan Mehmed el-Fatih, so due to that “last emission“ of the Bosnian kingdom, Ključ is known as a royal city today.
“The Old City of Ključ actually consists of three parts: the guard tower Lubica, the entrance part-plateau, which is from an Ottoman period and is called Tabor towers, while the third part is much larger and intertwined in the cliffs of the gorge, and dates back to 13th century, and it is actually a medieval city- Ključ on the Sana river“, explains Fuad Alibegovic, a history professor from Ključ.
The old city of Ključ was declared as a national monument in 1951. After the war, the municipality of Ključ renovated the Tabor towers, the Ottoman part of the old town, with the Institute for maintenance of cultural and historical heritage, but the medieval city of Ključ on Sana remained intact, and is covered with dense vegetation, thick ivy and was ingrown in rocks rising vertically above today’s Ključ.
The Old City of Ključ is located within a pine forest, which is kept as a natural and healthy environment, with particular emphasis on the preservation of the environment of the Old Town. Plans for the future include the lighting of the plateau and the walls of the Old City, and their placement in the hospitality and tourism purposes. With its towers on top of the high bare rock the Old City of Ključ is reminiscent of the castles of fairy tales, and it in a sense is, as it holds many secrets and tales like an eternal fairy tale and a mystery to all its visitors.