Well guys in this post we bring you some old stories about The Old City of Ključ (Key).

The Old City of Ključ, in historical documents is known as Ključ on Sana is mentioned for the first time in 1322 in a property of an aristocratic family of Hrvatinic, more precisely Vukosav Hrvatinic, an uncle of the famous Herceg Hrvoje who built the royal town Jajce.
The Old city of Ključ is known as the last refuge of the Bosnian king Stjepan Kotromanic under the invasion of Turks led by Sultan Mehmed el-Fatih, so due to that “last emission“ of the Bosnian kingdom, Ključ is known as a royal city today.

“The Old City of Ključ actually consists of three parts: the guard tower Lubica, the entrance part-plateau, which is from an Ottoman period and is called Tabor towers, while the third part is much larger and intertwined in the cliffs of the gorge, and dates back to 13th century, and it is actually a medieval city- Ključ on the Sana river“, explains Fuad Alibegovic, a history professor from Ključ.
The old city of Ključ was declared as a national monument in 1951. After the war, the municipality of Ključ renovated the Tabor towers, the Ottoman part of the old town, with the Institute for maintenance of cultural and historical heritage, but the medieval city of Ključ on Sana remained intact, and is covered with dense vegetation, thick ivy and was ingrown in rocks rising vertically above today’s Ključ.

The Old City of Ključ

The Old City of Ključ is located within a pine forest, which is kept as a natural and healthy environment, with particular emphasis on the preservation of the environment of the Old Town.  Plans for the future include the lighting of the plateau and the walls of the Old City, and their placement in the hospitality and tourism purposes. With its towers on top of the high bare rock the Old City of Ključ is reminiscent of the castles of fairy tales, and it in a sense is, as it holds many secrets and tales like an eternal fairy tale and a mystery to all its visitors.

In this post we bring you a story about one of the longest rivers of the Balkans – the river Tara. The canyon of the Tara river is a unique phenomenon with a depth of 1000 and 1300 meters in some places. It ranks just behind the Grand Canyon of the Colorado River in the United States. It is the longest river of Montenegro with its course of 150 km and at the rivers end with a small part of it flowing through Bosnia & Herzegovina. Tara later flows into the Drina river.

During its whole flow the Tara river gets large amount of water from numerous springs and tributaries. On the left side Tara has tributaries Ljutica and Sušica and the most important tributaries are Vaskovaška River and River Draga. The most important spring is spring of River Bajlovica, which is located on the left side of the River Tara in the cave Bučavica. It yields several hundred liters of water per second and it falls to Tara River from 30 meter during its length of 150 metres. This is the scene which is hard to imagine and needs to be experienced. The Tara River has a lot of special places, but the most valuable ones are its cascades. The most famous ones are: Djavolje laži (Devil’s lies), Sokovina, Bijeli kamen (White stone), Gornji and Donji tepački Buk (Upper and Lower Tepački cascade).

Rafting on the Tara River

Aside from different activities such as fishing or hiking, the Tara River offers most one of the most challenging rafting adventures in Europe. It is rated on the scale from 3-5 as it attracts great numbers of adrenaline junkies. Rafting agencies have developed several starting points and routes for rafting experience. Most of them start from Foča. These agencies offer full package for one or more days, which includes equipment, a skipper, breakfast, lunch, etc.

In the valleys of Tara certain species from the ice age can be found. Beside these special species the flora of the Tara River is characterized by different types of forests: oak, ash, beech and birch.

Stanisici

Stanišići Etno Village was founded in 2003, as the result of the inspiration of its owner, Boris Stanisic. He had travelled the villages of central Bosnia for more than several years, in search of old houses and objects that would keep alive the image of the way of life at the turn of the twentieth century. The search ended in an authentic mountain village in the middle of the Semberian plain The village consists of two parts. One of them shows the secular life and it consists of wooden houses – cottages – with household objects that were used within them for centuries.

The second part of Stanišići Etno Village is of religious character, with medieval stone architecture. It is made up of a number of replicas of important historical and religious buildings.

The area features ponds, mills, traditional restaurants and a brook, the Etno Village Stanišići is made up of old original buildings transported to this place from all over Bosnia.The Stanišići Etno Village is located on the edge of the city of Bijeljina in the plains of Semberija in the Republika Srpska.

Traditional Bosnian specialities and international cuisine are served by waiters dressed in ancient costumes in the restaurants of the Stanišići Etno Village.

See The Stanišići Etno Village

An on-site museum offers an impression of what life was like in Bosnia more over a hundred years ago. Children can have fun on the playground or enjoy train rides around the lake. The Stanišići Etno Village is a village of some 20 authentic wooden houses, including a milk house, a smithy, an “ambar” (a wooden structure for storing grain), old houses and a large guesthouse, all of them brought there from villages of Vares Municipality and villages of Mount Zvijezda and Mount Romanija.

Here one rests his eyes and soul, he becomes kinder, while the babbling of the brook and the sound of the watermill make him wiser.